Stream Original TV and Radio Live

Finance Minister Leads Ghana’s Delegation to AFDB Annual Meetings in Nairobi, Kenya

Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam, Minister for Finance, is leading Ghana’s delegation to the African Development Bank Group (AfDB) Annual Meetings which starts today in Nairobi, Kenya.

The 2024 Annual Meetings is under theme, “Africa’s Transformation, the African Development Bank Group, and the Reforms of the Global Financial Architecture”. It is expected to bring together Ministers of Finance, Governors of Central Banks from Africa, representatives of Non-African regional shareholders of the Bank, leaders of key global and regional financial and development institutions, as well as their technical teams to discuss the Bank’s performance, policies, and programmes to enhance its projects on the African continent.


Ghana’s delegation also includes Hon. Dr. Alex Ampaabeng, Deputy Minister for Finance, Mrs Elsie Addo Awadzi, 2nd Deputy Governor and officials from the Ministry of Finance (MoF), the Bank of Ghana (BoG) and the Ghana Infrastructural Investment Fund.

The delegation will participate in the statutory meetings of the AGM and hold bilateral meetings with some development partners. These include, High Level Presidential Dialogue, the Governors Dialogue, Ghana’s Constituency in the bank meeting, and a High-Level policy and reforms Dialogue.

The Bilateral meetings include meeting with the President of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank, Kuwaiti Fund, Standard Chartered Bank, ABSA Bank, BADEA and the OPEC Fund.

Dr Amin Adam is a panelist on two high level plenary knowledge events; “Financing Africa’s Transformation in a changing global financial System” and the African Capacity Building Foundation (ACBF) event on “Leadership Skills needed to improve PFM Performance in Africa”.

Key highlights of the AGM include celebration of AfDB @60, the launch of African Economic Outlook 2024, and initial discussions on the roadmap for the election of a new President of the Bank to replace Dr Adesina Akiwumi whose two-term tenure will end next year.