Stream Original TV and Radio Live

NPP Must Reject Unpopular MPs To Break De 8-National Security Report

A purported leaked research outcome from National Security sources paints doom for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in its strongholds where sitting MP’s popularity has waned as the 2024 Parliamentary and Presidential elections loom.

Though some twenty-two (22) incumbent MPs decided not to contest the upcoming 2024 elections, there are yet other unpopular incumbent MPs from the ruling Party who if elected could either proceed to win in a diminishing manner which will adversely affect the Presidential votes or lose the Parliamentary election via skirt and blouse a situation delegates in such Constituencies should avoid by voting against those MPs to save the Party and improve the Party’s chances of breaking the eight (8).

The research finding lists the following constituencies who have incumbent MPs whose popularity have gone down drastically and said if they (MPs) maneuver their way to win the Saturday 27th January primaries then the Party will be in a dire situation.

The research finding lists the following constituencies who have incumbent MPs whose popularity have gone down drastically and said if they (MPs) maneuver their way to win the Saturday 27th January primaries then the Party will be in a dire situation.

Notable among them is Offinso North with Augustine Collins Ntim who is serving his fourth term but the statistics do not support his candidature in canvasing for votes this term looking at his continuous dwindling Electoral fortunes from 2012 to 2020.

Parliamentary results throughout time has egged many votes in favour of the opposition and this below confirms it.

CollinsAugustine Ntim 2012
Samuel Kojo Appiah Kubi NDC
Samuel Kojo Appiah Kubi 15,734-46.39%
Acheampong Ceasar Ofosu 17,273-45.16%

From the stated statistics supra, any scientific party man wouldn’t risk giving Offinso North to Hon Augustine Collins Ntim at this crunch hour.

So delegates are advised to vote against Hon Augustine Collins Ntim for the Parliamentary seat for NPP.
Another Constituency is Asante Akyem Central where the incumbent MP Hon Kwame Anyimadu Antwi whose last two elections result depicts a very dangerous trend that needs to be halted.
Kwame Anyimadu Antwi

The above-mentioned trends show if nothing is done to halt the rapid downward trend then something untoward will happen to the NPP in our quest to canvass for more votes for breaking the (8).

Delegates in this must reject the incumbent MP for more presidential votes in the coming general elections.
The folowing Constituencies below in Ashanti Region have similar challenge and should be addressed by delegates.
Odotobri, Ahafo Ano North and Asante Akyem south.

Eastern Region

Abuakwa North
The incumbent MP for Abuakwa North is Hon Gifty Twum Ampofo who took over from late Boakye Danquah Adu.

Below is her diminishing Electoral fortunes

Joseph Boakye Danquah Adu NPP 18,812-60.45%
Victor Smith NDC 39.55% 12,309 –
Hon Gifty Ampofo NPP Twum 17,838-59.23%
Victor Smith NDC 11,754-39.03%
Gifty Twum Ampofo NPP 17,653-53.17%
Charles Yeboah Darko NDC 15,551-46.83%
The above downward electoral trend is very alarming and delegates in this Constituency must reject the incumbent MP for the Party to rejuvenate.

The constituencies listed below in the Eastern region also face same issues and the MPs should be dealt with.
New Abirem, Fanteakwa North, Fanteakwa South and Upper West Akim.

Bono Region
Brekum West

Western Region has a unique development in the following Constituencies where incumbent MP may lose if elected as PCs
Incumbent MP the first time, has lost credibility as a result of unacceptable social behaviors which if he is elected may spell doom for the ruling NPP Party in this coming general elections
Hon Dr Prince Amidu Armah if elected by the delegates may cause a serious electoral setback in NPP at Kwesimintsim in the upcoming general elections due to his inability to forge unity in the party.

A development that could give an upper hand to NDC’s Lawyer Fiifi Buckman

Central Region
Agona West

GT Accra region

Dome Kwabenya
Weija Gbawe

In conclusion, the report highlighted several other elections-related issues and outlined the recommended ways to either curb or restrict it.

Ashanti regional Chairman of the party, Bernard Antwi Bosiako, popularly known as Chairman Wontumi

Bernard Antwi Boasiako, also known as Wontumi recently urged party delegates to take a firm stance against Members of Parliament (MPs) who have lost popularity in their constituencies.

He was speaking to journalists ahead of the party’s upcoming primaries, where decisions on candidate selection will be pivotal for the 2024 general election.

“Even if you know that as an MP you reduced [NPP] votes in the 2020 elections then it is better you thank your people and leave the scene because we don’t want to endorse an MP who will go and lose a seat again”, the known party stalwart said even though he refused to name some of the ‘unpopular’ lawmakers in question.

“[As a delegate] if you know your MP has become unpopular, vote him out because this is not about money or friendship. Just vote for the popular candidate because we need majority MPs in parliament”, he stated.

New Abrim 2012

MAVIS AMA FRIMPONGNDC, 14,515, 45.23%.

2016 Election
OSEI FRIMPONG JOHNNPP, 19,208, 61.00%.

MAVIS AMA FRIMPONGNDC, 12,217, 38.80%.


2020 Elections
OSEI FRIMPONG JOHNNPP, 19,151, 55.19%.

MAVIS AMA FRIMPONGNDC, 15,110, 43.54%.

Dominic Kojo AppauLPG, 254, 0.73%.