Stream Original TV and Radio Live

NPP’s Kwabena Boateng declared winner of Ejisu by-election with 55.8%


The New Patriotic Party (NPP) candidate Kwabena Boateng has won the Ejisu by-election.

55.8% of the total votes cast went to Mr. Boateng, who received 27,782, and 43.3% went to Mr. Kwabena Owusu Aduomi, an independent candidate, who got 21,534.

Beatrice Boakye of the Liberal Party received 140 votes. Esther Osei of the Convention People’s Party got 89 votes.

Joseph Agyemang, an independent candidate, received 222 votes representing 0.2%, and Atakora Joseph, with 23 votes which is 0.0%.

The by-election was held in the wake of the March 7, 2024, death of Dr. John Ampontuah Kumah, a member of parliament and Deputy Minister of Finance.

The race was hotly contested, especially between Kwabena Aduomi, an Independent Candidate and three-time NPP member of parliament for the constituency.